September 7, 2019
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm


• Helene Zelazo Center for the Performing Arts



Co-Artistic Director Eric Segnitz is opening the season with different new music takes on the theme of rewrite!

Hear works from familiar experimental pioneers such as Steve Reich and Gyorgy Ligeti to today’s American composers such as Gabriella Smith, Nico Muhly and Christopher Cerrone.

Also included in the rewrites are several arrangements of popular artists like indie-rock band Radiohead and composer/old-time disciple Rhiannon Giddens.

Concert Program:
  • Steve Reich – Radio Rewrite
  • Gyorgy Ligeti – Car Horn Prelude
  • Gabriella Smith – Brandenberg Interstices
  • Nico Muhly – Drones for violin and piano
  • Christopher Cerrone – South Catalina
  • Arvo Part – Hymn to a Great City
  • Caleb Burhans – Escape Wisconsin
  • Rhiannon Giddens – At the Purchaser’s Option
  • With a special arrangement of Radiohead – Everything in it’s “REICH” Place!


Composer Spotlight:

headshot of caleb burhans

caleb burhans

Caleb Burhans

Caleb Burhans (b. 1980) is a multifaceted presence in the New York music scene who is active as both a performer (strings, voice) and composer. Originally from Wisconsin, Caleb attended the Eastman School of Music where he holds degrees in composition and viola performance. Caleb has been commissioned by Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, Library of Congress and the Kronos Quartet, to name a few.

Caleb’s works have been performed by ensembles such as the JACK Quartet, Roomful of Teeth, eighth blackbird, and the Alabama Symphony Orchestra. Caleb is a founding member of Alarm Will Sound, Ensemble Signal and the Wordless Music Orchestra. He is also a member of the American Contemporary Music Ensemble, Newspeak and the disco band Escort.

Caleb has worked with artists ranging from Yoko Ono, Paul McCartney, Bruce Springsteen, The National, Arcade Fire, and Blonde Redhead to Max Richter, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Steve Reich, La Monte Young, Meredith Monk, David Lang, Julia Wolfe, Michael Gordon, John Zorn, George Crumb and Caroline Shaw.

As a conductor, Caleb has worked with the London Sinfonietta and the Wordless Music Orchestra and has done choral preparation for John Adams, Brad Lubman and David Robertson.

About his work “Escape Wisconsin”, Caleb Burhans writes,

Escape Wisconsin is a funny piece regarding the way it came into existence. I began writing the original material in 2000 for two vibraphones and six years later I finished it as a solo alto saxophone piece. In 2006 the Albany Symphony commissioned twenty-some composers to write 3 to 4 minute works for solo instruments of the orchestra to be inspired and go along with various pieces of art in the Capitol Heritage Series at the New York State Museum/Rockefeller collection in Albany, NY. I chose alto saxophone and a piece by Conrad Marca-Relli entitled “Black Rock”.  I considered naming my piece after the painting but ultimately found myself referring to it as it’s original working title ‘Escape Wisconsin’.  I grew up in Wisconsin where the tourism slogan is ‘Escape to Wisconsin’.  This is my play on that slogan.”


Go Back